Thaw Brawl Open Practice Brings Solid Car Count

La Salle, IL (Friday, March 29, 2019) - The unofficial start to the 8th Annual Thaw Brawl Presented by Hoker Trucking is in the books with the conclusion of the Open Practice season held Friday night. Teams with the American Ethanol Late Model Tour (AELMT), the American Ethanol Modified Tour Presented by Allstar Performance (AEmods), IMCA Modifieds and IMCA Sport Mods took to the LaSalle Speedway for just over four hours Friday night in preparation for the weekends races.

Over a dozen UMP Late Models turned out for the open practice, with Oakwood, IL driver Bobby Pierce holding the fast time of the day at a 15.219. In the final run of the night though, defending AELMT Champion, Brandon Thirlby set the overall fast time of the day, in demanding fashion, with a 14.894 as the practice day came to a close.

Four drivers checked in with the AEmods during the Open Practice, including regulars Luke Hubble, Garrett Rons, and Austin Harnick. It was Mike Learman who sat atop the speed charts at the end of the night, turning a 16.061 second lap time over Luke Hubbell’s 16.578.

The times start to mean something more tomorrow afternoon, as the American Ethanol Qualifying will follow Hot Laps at 1:00 p.m. There, drivers with the AELMT and the AEmods will battle for the Motul Motor Oil and Lubricants Fast Qualifier award. Then, racing action as part of the 8th Annual Thaw Brawl kicks off at 3:00 p.m.

If you can’t make the trip, you can catch all the live audio action on the official American Ethanol Tours’ websites ( or Be sure to follow the American Ethanol Tours’ on social media, including Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.


© 2020 by Horsepower Happenings