Merritt Speedway Independence Day Weekend Next for American Ethanol Tours

Lake Odessa, MI (Tuesday, July 2, 2019) - Independence Day Weekend can mean a lot of things for the average American - cookouts, fireworks and celebrating the Nation’s independence. This weekend, the American Ethanol Late Model Tour (AELMT) and the American Ethanol Modified Tour Presented by Allstar Performance (AEmods), invite you to add a whole lot of racing into the equation. Thursday, July 4th through Saturday, July 6th, the American Ethanol Tours are taking over Lake City, Michigan’s Merritt Speedway.

The weekend begins on Thursday with the AEmods. They’ll roll into Merritt Speedway getting ready to do battle in a special race format. Day One will feature American Ethanol Qualifying and Heat Race action as normal - from there, things change for the special show. Finishing order in the Heat Races will determine the starting line-up for the Rustic Hog Barbeque Qualifying Races. Those 20-lap races will set the starting line-up for two American Ethanol Dash races which will determine the line-up for the $2,500 to win 30-lap main event on Friday.

AEmods Event Details - Race Format: CLICK HERE | Tire Rules: CLICK HERE

Since the Tour was founded in 2017, Jacob Poel has won an impressive five out of seven events held at the Speedway. There are other drivers on the Merritt Speedway winners rotation though,including David Mielke and Chad Bauer. Those three drivers have nearly locked out other competitors from seeing glory, as every AEmods event from Merritt has featured at least two out of those three drivers on the podium.

The American Ethanol Late Model Tour joins the party on Friday and Saturday, utilizing the same format as the AEmods - competing in American Ethanol Qualifying, Heat Races, KEL Graphics Qualifying Races (paying $1,000 to win), and American Ethanol Dash Races to set the line-up for the $5,000 to win 50-lap main event. There will also be a non-transfer B-Main feature for those drivers not qualifying for the A-Main.

AELMT Event Details - Race Format: CLICK HERE | Tire Rules: CLICK HERE

Not unlike the AEmods, Merritt Speedway has been the bread and butter for a select few drivers with the AELMT. Over the course of eight races, three drivers have shared Victory Lane. However, the last time someone not named Eric Spangler or Dona Marcoullier went to Victory Lane at Merritt was 2015, when Rich Neiser held off Marcoullier for the win.

Racing begins at 7:00pm each night from Merritt Speedway, with house division racing every night. Complete details can be found online at

Keep up with the American Ethanol Tours on social media, including Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter. Log on to your favorite Tour’s website ( or for a full schedule, stories, results, and more.


© 2020 by Horsepower Happenings