Krup Claims 2019 AEmods Championship

Lake Odessa, MI (Tuesday, October 1, 2019) - The 2019 season has officially come to an end for the American Ethanol Modified Tour Presented by Allstar Performance (AEmods) and for the first time in Tour history, a driver not named Jacob Poel takes home the honor of being the Tour Champion. Mt. Carmel, Illinois’, Will Krup put together one of the most dominating performances ever seen on Tour, to collect $5,000 and his first AEmods title.

The 2019 season didn’t begin quite as well as Krup would hope, bringing home an 18th place finish at the 8th Annual Thaw Brawl Presented by Hoker Trucking from LaSalle Speedway. Things would quickly turn around for the JHA Motorsports driver during the next outing with the Tour - a triple-header weekend in Michigan and Indiana.

The weekend began at Lake Odessa, Michigan’s I-96 Speedway, where Krup came home fourth behind Dillon Woodling, David Mielke, and feature winner Collin Thirlby. Night number two of the weekend saw another improvement for the K19, when he fought to get back around Devin Gilpen late in the race for his first career AEmods victory at Brownstown Speedway (IN). He capped the weekend off with a runner up finish at Gas City I-69 Speedway, behind Chad Bauer.

Krup would go on to collect three more feature wins on the 2019 season, including back-to-back feature wins in June, along with a total of seven podium finishes and one Motul Motor Oil and Lubricants Fast Qualifier Award.

“This is what we set out to do in 2019”, said Krup when interviewed at Kokomo Speedway following his third place finish. “We wanted to win this thing this year.”

Krup not only won the AEmods Championship in 2019, he did so in dominating fashion. Krup wrapped up the Championship early, going into the final weekend with a 272 point advantage over Luke Hubbell. After his performance at Kokomo, Krup won the Championship officially by 303 points. The previous largest margin of victory previously, was set in 2017, when Jacob Poel bested David Mielke by 63 points.

Luke Hubbell secured second in the Championship standings, 41 points ahead of Garrett Rons. John McClure comes home forth in final standings edging out early Championship favorite, Chad Bauer by 15 points. Bauer was sidelined for part of the season following his win at Gas City Speedway in May due to injuries sustained outside of racing.

Krup will be awarded his honors during the American Ethanol Championship Awards Banquet, on Saturday, December 7th at the brand new One Ethanol Headquarters in Lowell, Michigan.

Stay up to date on the American Ethanol Modified Tour Presented by Allstar Performance online at, and on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.


© 2020 by Horsepower Happenings